Invoice automation for Australian SMBs on Xero or MYOB: the AP workflow, Peppol e-invoicing, tool pricing in AUD, fraud controls and when custom AI is worth it.
Invoice automation for an Australian business means capturing supplier bills automatically, extracting the data, coding it to your accounts, routing it for approval and paying it, with a person reviewing exceptions rather than typing every line. Start with Peppol e-invoicing and a capture tool that plugs into Xero or MYOB. Pay for custom AI only when your documents or systems defeat both.
TL;DR: Most Australian SMBs can automate accounts payable with Xero’s built-in capture, Peppol e-invoices and, where needed, an add-on such as Dext (from $33.58 a month ex GST) or Lightyear (from $155 a month). Peppol takes OCR out of the picture for every bill that arrives that way. Whatever you automate, keep independent verification of bank-detail changes: payment redirection scams cost Australians $166.8 million in 2025.
The accounts payable workflow, step by step
Every supplier bill goes through six steps: capture, extract, code, approve, pay, reconcile. Automation helps each step differently, which is why “invoice automation” is a poor thing to buy as a single product.
Capture is getting the bill out of an inbox, a courier bag or a supplier portal and into a system. Forwarding to a dedicated address or receiving on a Peppol ID does most of the work. Extraction is where OCR and AI document processing read the supplier, ABN, date, totals, GST and line items. Coding assigns an account and tracking category, and this is where AI earns its keep, because it learns that the electricity retailer always goes to the same account and the same cost centre.
Approval is a workflow problem, not an AI problem: who signs off what, up to what amount. Payment and reconciliation are largely solved already by your accounting platform’s bank feeds and batch payments.
Where we see time go is extraction and coding on multi-line bills, and chasing approvers. Software fixes the first. The second is a process and management fix that no tool will make for you.
Peppol e-invoicing: the step that removes OCR
A Peppol e-invoice arrives as structured data, so there is nothing to read and nothing to misread. Xero delivers e-invoices sent to your Peppol ID as draft bills ready for approval, and registration is free to set up.
The federal government set up the Australian Peppol Authority inside the ATO in 2019 to govern the network here, and the ATO says more than 400,000 Australian businesses are now on it. Its own estimate is blunt: a paper or PDF invoice generally costs $27 to $30 to process, and e-invoicing can bring that below $10 an invoice.
Be clear about what is and is not mandatory as of September 2026. Non-corporate Commonwealth entities (federal departments and most agencies) have had to be able to receive e-invoices since 2022. As e-invoicing becomes the default in federal procurement, the ATO is working to lift e-invoices to 30 percent of invoices those entities receive by 1 July 2026, with automated processing and sending in place by December 2026. Nothing equivalent applies between private businesses. The proposed Business E-Invoicing Right was never legislated, so B2B e-invoicing remains voluntary, as Zone & Co’s 2026 compliance guide notes.
If you sell to federal government, get Peppol-ready now, because the agencies you invoice are being measured on it. If you don’t, Peppol still helps, but only with suppliers who send that way. Ask your ten biggest suppliers. Most will still email PDFs, and that is why you need a capture tool as well.

What invoice automation tools cost
Prices below were checked on 30 September 2026. Check GST treatment before you compare, because vendors differ.
| Tool | What it does | Published price (AUD) | GST |
|---|---|---|---|
| Xero Grow / Comprehensive / Ultimate | Bills, bank feeds, bill payments, Peppol receipt, smart document capture | $78 / $107 / $143 per month (after the intro offer) | Inc GST |
| Xero smart document capture | Extracts data from scanned receipts and bills (Xero says in under 30 seconds); still rolling out in beta in Australia | Included in the plans above; basic extraction only on Grow | Inc in plan |
| Dext Business | Capture and extraction; 250 documents a month, 5 users. Line-item extraction is an add-on from $28.50 a month or $0.70 a document | $33.58 per month, or $403 a year | Ex GST |
| Lightyear Essentials / Standard | AP automation with line extraction, approval workflows and supplier statement reconciliation; 125 / 250 credits a month, one credit per bill; unlimited users | $155 / $255 per month | Not stated |
| MYOB Business Pro / AccountRight Plus | Accounting platform; receipt scanning through the MYOB Assist app | $70 / $165 per month (after intro offers) | Not stated |
| ApprovalMax for Xero | Multi-step approvals for bills and purchase orders | Three plans per organisation, tiered by approvers and documents | Ex tax |
| Custom AI extraction | Built for unusual documents, multi-entity groups or legacy systems | Scoped per project; see AI automation costs | n/a |
A note on Hubdoc. Xero’s July 2026 product update positions smart document capture as its native capture tool, rolling out in beta here. Hubdoc’s Australian site still sells Hubdoc, while third-party sites report it was retired in May 2026. Confirm its future with Xero before building around it.
For most firms on Xero, the order we recommend is: switch on Peppol and Xero’s capture, then add Dext or Lightyear only if extraction quality, line items or approvals are still the bottleneck. If your accountant runs the books, our AI for accountants playbook covers what they can take on.
Mid-article checkpoint: map your own AP workflow
Before you buy anything, map how a bill actually moves through your business. Our fixed-fee AI Quick-Win Audit does that for your AP process, identifies where automation will pay, and shows you a live working demonstration. It costs $2,950 (AUD), and the fee is credited toward any build of $10,000 or more commissioned within 3 months. It starts with a free 30-minute fit call. If the answer is “turn on Peppol and buy Dext”, we will say so.
Controls and fraud: what automation must not remove
Automation speeds up payment, which is exactly what a fraudster wants. Payment redirection scams, where a criminal alters a real invoice or impersonates a supplier to change the bank details, caused $166.8 million in reported losses in 2025, up 9.3 percent on $152.6 million in 2024. Only investment scams cost Australians more. Total reported scam losses for the year reached $2.18 billion.
Peppol reduces the exposure. The ATO says e-invoices travel between approved access points using both parties’ ABNs, so the risk of intercepted, fake or compromised invoices is lower than with emailed ones, though it still expects you to apply your usual checks before paying. And Peppol does nothing about the phone call from “your supplier” asking you to update their account.
Scamwatch’s advice on business email compromise is to contact the business by phone on a number you have sourced independently, never one taken from the email. Build that into the process:
- Any change to supplier bank details is verified by a call-back to a known number, made by someone who did not receive the request.
- Approval thresholds stay in force, with a second approver above a dollar limit you set.
- Extraction flags first-time suppliers and bank-account changes for review instead of passing them through.
We would not let AI approve payments. Let it code and route, and keep a named person accountable for releasing the money.
The ROI maths, illustrative only
The numbers below are an illustration, not a benchmark. Substitute your own.
| Input | Illustrative value |
|---|---|
| Bills per month | 240 |
| Minutes per bill, manual (open, key in, code, chase) | 8 |
| Minutes per bill, after capture and coding | 2 |
| Loaded hourly cost of the person doing it | $45 |
Manual handling takes 32 hours a month (240 bills at 8 minutes). After automation it takes 8. That frees 24 hours, worth $1,080 a month at $45 an hour. At that volume Dext Business (250 documents) costs $33.58 a month ex GST and Lightyear Standard (250 credits) $255, so even the dearer option nets about $825 a month.
The saving hangs on your minutes per bill, and assumes exceptions stay low. Time your current process for a week before you believe any vendor’s number, ours included. Our guide to measuring AI ROI shows how to set that baseline.
Off-the-shelf or custom?
Off-the-shelf is enough when your bills are mostly standard PDFs and Peppol invoices and you run one entity on one accounting platform. That describes most SMBs.
Custom workflows earn their cost in three situations. Multi-entity groups with intercompany coding rules are one. Industry documents that generic extraction keeps getting wrong are another: freight manifests, construction progress claims, utility bills with dozens of line items. The third is a legacy ERP with no modern integration. Even then, build on a workflow engine rather than from scratch; see n8n vs Zapier vs Make. Our guides to business process automation and disconnected systems explain why the integration work usually costs more than the AI. If you are unsure your data and processes are ready, try the AI readiness assessment.
Where to start
Invoice automation pays back fastest when you sequence it: Peppol first, a capture tool second, custom AI last and only if the first two fall short. Keep bank-detail verification and approval limits in place the whole way through. If you want a second opinion on your AP workflow, see our process automation service, book the AI Quick-Win Audit, or contact us.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is invoice automation?
Invoice automation is software that captures supplier bills, extracts the data, codes it to your accounts and routes it for approval and payment. A person reviews exceptions instead of keying every line. In Australia it usually sits on top of Xero or MYOB.
Is e-invoicing mandatory in Australia?
Not between businesses. Federal non-corporate Commonwealth entities must be able to receive Peppol e-invoices, with a target of 30 percent of invoices received by 1 July 2026 and automated processing by December 2026. The proposed Business E-Invoicing Right for B2B trade was never legislated.
How much does accounts payable automation cost in Australia?
Capture comes included in Xero plans ($78 to $143 a month inc GST). Dext Business costs $33.58 a month ex GST and Lightyear runs $155 or $255 a month. Custom AI extraction is scoped per project. Check GST treatment before comparing.
Does Xero have built-in invoice automation?
Partly. Every Xero small business plan includes smart document capture (basic extraction only on Grow), though Xero describes it as still rolling out in beta in Australia, and Xero receives Peppol e-invoices as draft bills ready for approval. Firms needing multi-step approvals often add ApprovalMax.
How do I stop payment redirection fraud when I automate?
Verify every bank-detail change by phoning a number you sourced independently, and keep approval thresholds and a second approver for larger payments. Configure your tool to flag first-time suppliers and changed bank accounts. Automation should speed up coding and routing, never skip these checks.